Creating Chiropractic Community Meet The Staff About Us Site Map Contact Us
ChiroWeb Logo Discussion Forums ChiroPoll Webcasts Subscribe Advertising Information

Search ChiroWeb!

Extended Search

Chiro Directory
Event Calendar
Previous Issues
Editorial Schedule
Member Services
Classified Advertising
Chiropractor Web Sites
Industry News
October 9, 2013 >> Sports / Exercise / Fitness

First Female DC Inducted Into ACA Sports Chiropractic Hall of Fame

Dr. Robin A. Hunter has been inducted into the ACA Sports Chiropractic Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony occurred at the American Chiropractic Association Sports Council (ACASC) symposium, held at the Meadowlands, N.J., on Sept, 28, 2013.

Dr. Hunter is the tenth inductee into the Hall of Fame and the first woman to be bestowed this honor. The first inductee was Dr. Earl Painter, who was the trainer / chiropractor for the New York Yankees from 1930-1942 and the personal trainer for Babe Ruth.

Dr. Hunter is a clinical assistant professor with the Ohio State University College of Medicine and chiropractor with OSU Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation, Performing Arts Medicine Program; and a clinical associate professor at the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine.

She was the first chiropractic physician to be appointed to an Olympic Winter Games. She served as a member of the U.S. Olympic Medical Team at the 2002 Winter Olympics, held at Salt Lake City, Utah. She also was the first female chiropractor ever to be appointed to an official U.S. Olympic Medical Team. She was a member of the USOC Medical Team at the 2001 University World Games in Beijing, China. Dr. Hunter has also served as the company sports chiropractor for BalletMet Columbus since 1986.

Among her other accomplishments, Dr. Hunter has lectured internationally, nationally and locally on sports chiropractic, sports injuries and physical fitness, healthy lifestyles, kinetic chain assessment and treatment, and dance wellness topics. She is also on the postgraduate faculty of New York Chiropractic College and Logan College of Chiropractic. Dr. Hunter is a 1975 graduate from Montclair State University, Upper Montclair, N.J., and 1986 graduate of Logan College of Chiropractic.

At attendance at the induction ceremony were three of the five living Hall of Fame members: Dr. John Danchik of Boston, Mass., Dr. Phillip Santiago of Lake Hiawatha, N.J., and Dr. Tom Hyde of Asheville, N.C. Presentations were made by two college presidents: Dr. Frank Nicchi, New York Chiropractic College and Dr. John Scaringe, Southern California University of Health Sciences.

Remarks were also provided by David Chapman Smith, JD, secretary-general of the World Chiropractic Federation; and Dr. Sherri LaShomb, president of the ACA Council on Sports Injuries and Physical Fitness. Dr. Hunter is a past president of the ACASC.

The most recent induction into the Hall of Fame occurred eight years ago. This is considered the highest honor that can be earned in the specialty of sport chiropractic.

Source: American Chiropractic Association Sports Council


To report inappropriate ads,