Creating Chiropractic Community Meet The Staff About Us Site Map Contact Us
ChiroWeb Logo Discussion Forums ChiroPoll Webcasts Subscribe Advertising Information

Search ChiroWeb!

Extended Search

Chiro Directory
Event Calendar
Previous Issues
Editorial Schedule
Member Services
Classified Advertising
Chiropractor Web Sites
Industry News
August 6, 2013
Dynamic Chiropractic
Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed
Share |
Dynamic Chiropractic >> Education & Seminars

Dr. Joseph Brimhall to Chair Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

The University of Western States (UWS) has announced that its president, Joseph Brimhall, DC, has been elected chair of the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). As chair, Dr. Brimhall will exercise the executive powers of the office, set the time and place for commission board meetings, chair the board executive committee, and preside at all NWCCU board and business meetings. His term runs through July 2016.

"We couldn't have found a more experienced leader to guide us through the next three years as the commission continues to effectively implement its new accreditation process in the Northwest and proactively addresses the complex challenges facing regional accreditation and higher education nationwide," said NWCCU president Sandra E. Elman, PhD."His unanimous election is a testament to the respect and admiration he has earned from his colleagues on the commission," added Dr. Elman.

Previously, Dr. Brimhall had served six years as an elected NWCCU commissioner, with four of those years as a member of the NWCCU executive committee.In addition to serving on the commission, Dr. Brimhall was former chairman of the Commission on Accreditation, former president of the Council on Chiropractic Education, and past president of the Councils on Chiropractic Education International. He is a founding director of the Oregon Collaborative for Integrative Medicine, and serves on the executive committee of the Academic Consortium for Complementary and Alternative Health Care.

The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) is an independent, non-profit membership organization recognized by the United States Department of Education as the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness of higher education institutions in the seven-state Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. It fulfills its mission by establishing accreditation criteria and evaluation procedures by which institutions are reviewed.

The commission, which oversees regional accreditation for 160 public and private higher education institutions, consists of 26 commissioners who represent the public and the diversity of higher education institutions within the Northwest.

Source: University of Western States

Dynamic Chiropractic

Dynamic Chiropractic
Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed
Share |
Dynamic Chiropractic
Dynamic Chiropractic
Join the conversation
Comments are encouraged, but you must follow our User Agreement
Keep it civil and stay on topic. No profanity, vulgar, racist or hateful comments or personal attacks. Anyone who chooses to exercise poor judgement will be blocked. By posting your comment, you agree to allow MPA Media the right to republish your name and comment in additional MPA Media publications without any notification or payment.
comments powered by Disqus

To report inappropriate ads,